Interview with Musician Maxime

Hometown: Ottawa, Canada (now living in Montreal)

How did you get started in music?

Took guitar lessons then made little guitar songs on GarageBand. I quickly moved to making EDM. I downloaded a demo version of FL Studio around the start of middle school when I discovered Deadmau5.

How would you describe your music to new listeners?

I guess indie-alternative bedroom pop with electronic influences. My songs can be quite different from one another though which I think is a good thing.

What was your favorite song to work on?

“Rubber Checks” was a really fun one cause I didn’t take the lyrics or vocal performance as seriously as I normally do. I didn’t try too hard to be deep or introspective and it came out nice.

Who is your dream collaborator?

I recently discovered someone Genesis Owusu whose stuff I love, they’re great.

How do you get through writer’s block when you’re not feeling creative?

I found a really good method for me at least which is to find a song I really like and then try to rip it off and then intentionally ‘fail’ by changing around the melodies/chords and starting to put my own spin on it.

Have you faced adversity in the music industry or any interesting stories?

I once had someone with 10,000 SoundCloud followers send me a DM when I had no followers. They said ‘hey my buddy really likes your music’, and the buddy messaged me saying ‘I really like these demos could you send me the (FL) project files.’ A few months later they fully released an exact song from one of those project files, we got it sorted in the end but that was pretty sucky.

What are your musical aspirations?

It would be cool to sell out a show. (Tt would be cool to put together a show in general that I’m proud of haha but I’m working on that currently.) I would also be pretty stoked if I ever got an Anthony Fantano review.

Do you have any upcoming projects coming up?

I got 5 tracks releasing back to back the next few months starting with “rubber checks” which is already out and I am finishing with an EP that puts them all together.

Is there anything else you would like to contribute?

Shoutout Music Without Any Boundaries, thanks for having me!

Links:
Instagram:
https://www.instagram.com/maximemusic
YouTube: https://www.youtube.com/c/maximemakesmusic
Tik Tok: https://www.tiktok.com/@maximemusic

Leave a comment